留言板

Theming Best Practices

thumbnail
Johann Daberger,修改在7 年前。

Theming Best Practices

New Member 帖子: 24 加入日期: 16-1-19 最近的帖子
Hello,

I just installed LR 7 - I am pretty new to liferay in general und would like to ask the experienced LR people about some best practices.

I like the LR 7 default theme and it seems to me to be a good base for getting a modern look and feel of a project. But how do you guys work with Liferay?

Do you all create your own themes for every project or do you simply put your own CSS in the Custom CSS textfield (I mean in Navigation -> public pages -> configuration -> Look and Feel -> CSS)

And my second question to be a bit more detailed just as a simple example. I would like to have the chance to make full width sections on my pages, like Liferay.com also has and most modern websites generally. How would you Liferay pros do this? Would you create a custom theme to implement this? Or would you create new layout templates for this? Or would you just inject some custom CSS?

Would be glad to see your suggestions! Thanks a lot in advance!
Johann
thumbnail
David H Nebinger,修改在7 年前。

RE: Theming Best Practices

Liferay Legend 帖子: 14916 加入日期: 06-9-2 最近的帖子
Always use a theme for styling. The look and feel option gets old quick when you need to copy to new pages, make minor changes across all pages, etc.

For full width, the layout templates use styles from the theme to handle rendering. Enabling full width is therefore also a theme change.
thumbnail
Johann Daberger,修改在7 年前。

Hello David,

thank you very much for your reply!

Ok, I understand that everyone beginning to create a website/portal with liferay should first dive into theme development!

Two things on this:

Is the Theme development tutorial (https://dev.liferay.com/develop/learning-paths/themes) still valid for LR 7?

Is this the reason why there are only a very few themes in the marketplace - for Liferay 7 even nothing at all?