留言板

Wrapping non-Struts non-jsp servlets in LifeRay

thumbnail
Pete Helgren,修改在12 年前。

Wrapping non-Struts non-jsp servlets in LifeRay

Regular Member 帖子: 225 加入日期: 11-4-7 最近的帖子
I'll admit that I am very new to liferay and portals but I have been writing servlet applications for years without using struts or jsp's so I find much of the documentation and forum posts to be less than helpful. What I need is a clear understanding of what it takes to:

1. Wrap an existing servlet in a LifeRay portlet without a reference to struts or jsp's..,
OR
2. Take the existing servlet framework I use and modify it so it works with LifeRay portlets.

Option 1 would be preferred because it would reduce the work necessary to implement the servlets I have already written. I use Freemarker as the template engine and use a framework called Niggle to format and deliver those pages in a servlet.

The first thing I tried was just cutting and pasting the existing HTML into the generated .jsp when the portlet was created, but the compiler complained because the Freemarker markup conflicted with the jsp markup. So I just used the htm file as is and got better results: the portlet built and deployed and the HTML rendered just fine but the Freemarker markup wasn't processed. And, since the servlet wasn't referenced none of the Freemarker variables would have been processed anyway since the servlet maps the variables to the actual content.

Seems to me that this can't be too difficult a chore to accomplish, maybe a ServletWrapper class would be nice (although if it were THAT easy it would have already been done!). I haven't read up on Portlets to determine just how it differs from Servlets and frankly since I work with a Servlet framework, I am insulated from the implementation details in any case.