Fórum

Eclipse set up

Lee Chamberlain, modificado 7 Anos atrás.

Eclipse set up

Junior Member Postagens: 92 Data de Entrada: 05/05/16 Postagens Recentes
I'm setting up the Eclipse IDE for Liferay (first time I've had to do this in the years I've been a Liferay developer).

I'm trying to set the SDK up. The instructions say to go to (Window > Preferences > Liferay > Installed SDKs)

There is no "Installed SDKs" area there

Most documentation tells me to use the Helios version of Liferay, however I'm using Mars. I assumed this would be fine as Mars is a more recent version. Do I need to install Helios? (Seems a bit odd if I do).

Thanks
Lee

Also does anyone know of any resources to develop Liferay portlets (and deploy a local version of CE) with Intellij? I think I'm ultimately going to be asked to developer with that IDE.
thumbnail
David H Nebinger, modificado 7 Anos atrás.

RE: Eclipse set up

Liferay Legend Postagens: 14914 Data de Entrada: 02/09/06 Postagens Recentes
Hey, Lee, looks like you're in some older documentation for the 2.2 version of the IDE. Try to find some updated docs for version 3 where the SDK is not the focus.

I use Intellij exclusively, but then I ditched the SDK years ago. For 6.2 development, I would leverage the maven archetypes to create plugin projects. For 7 development, I've switched to gradle and the Liferay workspace. For each of these cases, I still fall back to command line for invoking the project creation tools such as maven or blade as I don't want the IDE to get in the way of the project creation.

Thanks

Due to corporate restrictions I'm not able to access the command line for Intellij - is it easy enough to do this? It's been a while since I last used Intellij and still relatively new with Maven too (never used Gradle at all).

L
thumbnail
David H Nebinger, modificado 7 Anos atrás.

Liferay Legend Postagens: 14914 Data de Entrada: 02/09/06 Postagens Recentes