Fórum

UI State

Chris Turns, modificado 11 Anos atrás.

UI State

New Member Postagens: 5 Data de Entrada: 06/03/13 Postagens Recentes
Folks,

The company I work for is about to embark on creating a suite of feature rich web applications deployed within Liferay. Assuming each page represents an application, how do you maintain UI state when navigating between pages (i.e. full page refreshes)?

Obviously I can cache data on the server within the session, but what about things such as the current scroll position or any text that has been entered in any inputs? I don't want to fire off AJAX requests as a result of each user action for performance reasons. I thought cookies could be an option, but I would need to manually write onChange routines for each input field in the page which would be time consuming and error prone.

Is there a standard for doing this, or perhaps an already developed library? Am I asking too much?

I'm new to portlet development, so forgive me is this is a silly question. I've done some Googling and searching within the forum, but I've not found any concrete answers.

Thanks,

Chris
thumbnail
Juan Gonzalez P, modificado 11 Anos atrás.

RE: UI State

Liferay Legend Postagens: 3089 Data de Entrada: 28/10/08 Postagens Recentes
Guess you want JSF portlets, and @ViewScope beans. You can even use conversation beans, but I am not sure if this is available as JSF portlet in Liferay.
Chris T, modificado 11 Anos atrás.

Thanks for your quick response.

@ViewScope beans won't work for what we're going as we're navigating to a different page, then pack to the original. e.g. We have a page representing a forum and a page representing a calendar and the end user is navigating between both.