掲示板

Impact in migrating application built in liferay EE to CE

7年前 に Babu Mazumder によって更新されました。

Impact in migrating application built in liferay EE to CE

New Member 投稿: 3 参加年月日: 16/12/10 最新の投稿
The problem statement is to migrate existing portal developed in Liferay Enterprise edition (EE) to Community edition (CE).
Since i'm a newbie in Liferay so trying to get your expert help and pointers. I have a task to analyze and evaluate the impact in this migration so would like to understand precisely the areas that will be affected and will require code changes to make it work in CE.
Like related to build, deployment, built in controls, specific framework features or services, methods or keywords used in development that will not work or need to be done differently etc..
Please provide response at earliest and thanks in advance.
thumbnail
7年前 に Andrew Jardine によって更新されました。

RE: Impact in migrating application built in liferay EE to CE

Liferay Legend 投稿: 2416 参加年月日: 10/12/22 最新の投稿
First major question is, which version of Liferay are you working with?

My Bad. EE6.2 to CE 7.0 or latest.
thumbnail

Well right off the bat, since you are new to Liferay, you might now be aware of the fact that the architectural changes to the product between 6.2 and 7.0 are -- let's say ... significant emoticon. I think most would agree, once they get over the initial frustration of change, that the changes are for the better and the direction taken will mean an even better product in the future -- but you should probably factor in some extra pain of migrating the plugins. There is a new mechanism for doing it based on OSGI which adds some complexity, but Liferay has also moved away from ANT using now Gradle instead. Maven is still available though if you are more comfortable there.