掲示板

Some General Questions

thumbnail
15年前 に Channing K Jackson によって更新されました。

Some General Questions

Junior Member 投稿: 67 参加年月日: 08/11/13 最新の投稿
Hey there!

I'm an experienced JEE programmer with some pretty good depth with portals, and I am so far very impressed by both Liferay Portal and Liferay Social Office.

I am currently evaluating Social Office for a potential replacement of Sharepoint at my company, and am curious about a few things:

- What is the roadmap or timeline for a GA release of Social Office?
- Is there a WAR or EAR distribution that can be deployed to an existing web app server platform like OAS or WebLogic?
- Can components like the document repository be tied into existing content management systems like Oracle Universal Content Manager (UCM)?
- Are there any tools for migrating existing repository content into the Social Office repositories (documents, wiki content, forum discussions, etc)?
- Does social office come with installation guides or utilities for hooking into a database like Oracle?
- Can authentication and authorization be tied into access management suites like Oracle Access Manager or other directory services?
- Is it as simple to write extensions or applications for Social Office as it is for Liferay Portal?

As you can tell from my line of questioning, we are deeply entrenched in Oracle as an enterprise software suite. Fortunately, Oracle does some things very well. Equally unfortunately, Oracle doesn't do other things very well. Hopefully they won't screw up WebLogic.

More questions will probably come as I dive deeper, but so far, good job!
thumbnail
15年前 に Bryan Cheung によって更新されました。

RE: Some General Questions

Expert 投稿: 373 参加年月日: 04/08/27 最新の投稿
Hi Channing,

Thanks for trying out Social Office and for your encouraging feedback. Let me try to answer your questions:

- What is the roadmap or timeline for a GA release of Social Office?