Foros de discusión

JSF and Hibernate -- Use service-builder or implement own persistence?

Rico D'Amore, modificado hace 12 años.

JSF and Hibernate -- Use service-builder or implement own persistence?

New Member Mensajes: 13 Fecha de incorporación: 29/03/12 Mensajes recientes
Hi,

I'm relatively new to Liferay.

I've done development with JSF/MyFaces/IceFaces and Hibernate/MySQL.

Traditionally I have Controller and Helper classes along with backing beans all wired together with the annotated POJOS to do the persistence layer implementation with my database. (Backing beans make calls to services which in turn interact with the helper classes to work with the db.

My question is: should this be the way I use JSF/Hibernate/MySQL with liferay? Or, should I make the front end with JSF and then try to use the liferay LocalServiceUtil methods (generated with service-builder) to hit the db? If so, would I use annotations with my backing beans? How exactly can I go about this? The above stated way with JSF/HIbernate/MySQL seems very straight forward to me, but that's because I've already done it a bunch. It seems like I should be leveraging the service-builder from Liferay, but how to do that is a little vague. But: in order to do this it seems like I have to have those annotated POJO classes, but we are not supposed to mess with the service directory that the service-builder creates. :-(

Can anyone point me in the right direction here? I've been scouring the inter-webs, and I've found a lot of posts with people interested in the same thing, and I'm wondering if this community has already solved this problem.

Thanks! So far, I like what liferay is about!
thumbnail
David H Nebinger, modificado hace 12 años.

RE: JSF and Hibernate -- Use service-builder or implement own persistence?

Liferay Legend Mensajes: 14915 Fecha de incorporación: 2/09/06 Mensajes recientes
Using SB is recommended for all portlets.