Foros de discusión

Programmatic control of Announcements & Alerts portlets

Steve Hideg, modificado hace 8 años.

Programmatic control of Announcements & Alerts portlets

New Member Mensajes: 3 Fecha de incorporación: 16/12/15 Mensajes recientes
Hello,

Is there any way to programmatically control the contents and behavior of the Announcements and Alerts portlets from external systems?

I'm looking for a way to have an external system add entries to the announcements portlet and another system to control the alerts portlet based on external data and conditions without someone having to manually enter this data on the portal.

Thanks.

—Steve Hideg
thumbnail
Andrew Jardine, modificado hace 8 años.

RE: Programmatic control of Announcements & Alerts portlets

Liferay Legend Mensajes: 2416 Fecha de incorporación: 22/12/10 Mensajes recientes
Hi Steve,

I have never tried this before but I am willing to throw out an idea or two that you could try emoticon. Actually it's only really a half idea as it only addresses announcements.

Liferay ships with a REST-like service implementation for most of the services API. Assuming you are using the Tomcat bundle on 8080, on your local machine you can see the listing of the services by going to

http://localhost:8080/api/jsonws

If you enter announcements into the search field you will find that there are several options, one of which includes AnnouncementsEntry, add-entry. This might help you to acheive the first half of your question (always assuming that the external system can access the Liferay system of course).

Can you give that shot and let us know if it helps? If it does then perhaps you could do something similar for alerts using a Struts Action hook or something.

Thanks Andrew.

This looks promising, except for the fact that I have to log in through a CAS server first.
We're actually using Luminis portal 5.2.1 which sits atop Liferay 6.1.20 EE. Users have to authenticate using a CAS server.