Foren

Liferay 7.0 ga3 very slow start

Karen Bellware, geändert vor 7 Jahren.

Liferay 7.0 ga3 very slow start

New Member Beiträge: 9 Beitrittsdatum: 01.03.17 Neueste Beiträge
Hi, I am a web development student and the book we are using is for Liferay 6.2 ga2, so I cannot follow it very much given the different versions. Therefore, I followed a tutorial for 7.0 to get started. Once I click on the startup.bat file in the tomcat bin folder, it takes at LEAST 15 minutes to load the server and bring up the Lifray homepage. Sometimes, it can take up to 30 minutes to bring up the homepage. As a student with deadlines, this is very frustrating! It makes my limited time to do assignments between work, kids, sports for the kids, and school very difficult! Is there any way I can speed up the startup time?

I'm running a 64bit Windows 10 Education system with a Pentium dual core CPU, 3.07ghz, 500gb hard drive, 280gb free.

I installed the Lifreay with Tomcat 8 bundle. I have maven and ant installed as well although this has nothing to do with the startup.

As you can see in the attached log copy, it took from 4:12 to 4:36 to start.

Thanks
thumbnail
David H Nebinger, geändert vor 7 Jahren.

RE: Liferay 7.0 ga3 very slow start

Liferay Legend Beiträge: 14916 Beitrittsdatum: 02.09.06 Neueste Beiträge
First, running Liferay on only one GB memory is way too low. Increase to 4 or 8 gigs to give it room to move.

Second, this log is from a first time launch when the HSQL database is getting created and populated. As long as you are not deleting your data directory every time, this kind of thing will not recur and startup will be much faster.

I am a student and have never used Liferay or Tomcat before, so can you please tell me how I can increase the memory for Tomcat? I have no idea how to begin.