Foren

What is the difference between web content and wiki??

Silicon Smith, geändert vor 12 Jahren.

What is the difference between web content and wiki??

New Member Beiträge: 21 Beitrittsdatum: 04.10.11 Neueste Beiträge
Hi All,
I am very new to liferay community edition.
What is the difference between web content wiki?? what I should use for my company to post the contents??
which one is more recommended??

thanks in advance
Replies highly appreciated.
Manjinder
thumbnail
Hitoshi Ozawa, geändert vor 12 Jahren.

RE: What is the difference between web content and wiki?? (Antwort)

Liferay Legend Beiträge: 7942 Beitrittsdatum: 24.03.10 Neueste Beiträge
If you're creating just one web page, then you can use web content. Web content also allows creation of forms.
If you're going to allow users to create subpages as well, then use wiki.
thumbnail
Sandeep Nair, geändert vor 12 Jahren.

RE: What is the difference between web content and wiki?? (Antwort)

Liferay Legend Beiträge: 1744 Beitrittsdatum: 06.11.08 Neueste Beiträge
Most of website requires content to published on page like a nice banner on top or some company new doing a nice slideshow on the home page. In that case you will use Liferay's Web Content to create the content and publish the content. Normally content is created by content creator of the website and the end users who access the website wont be having rights to modify the same. Its just there for them to see.

Wiki on the other side is a collaboration tool. You must have seen Wikipedia for instance. Where in if you see wiki for say "Microsoft" you would as an end user can see and modify the wiki content. Wiki is generally used as a way to build up a knowledgebase. Here its not the site admin who are the main actors but the end users who would share their knowledge on which they have expertise.

Regards,
Sandeep

RE: What is the difference between web content and wiki??