toggle
Gary Jiang
How to isolate organizations?
July 8, 2011 9:53 AM
Answer

Gary Jiang

Recent Posts

I'm new to Liferay portal.
I logged in my portal (CE version 6.0.6) with credentials test@liferay.com/test;
I created multiple regular organizations on my portal (CE version 6.0.6);
For each organization, I created an admin user for the organization by assigning Organization Administrator permission/role. I expected this user can created other regular users and sub-organizations.

When logged on as one of the admin users I created above, I expected to see my organization information only. But instead, I see all the other organizations reside on the liferay portal.

I also tried to create a new role (with users and pages permissions only), and only assign that role to the admin users, but the users still see other organizations and users under other organizations.

How can I isolate organizations (or groups?) so users under one organization will not see the existance of other users on the portal, except public web pages?

Thanks for any help!
Bijan Vakili
RE: How to isolate organizations?
July 8, 2011 10:33 AM
Answer

Bijan Vakili

Recent Posts

Hey,

Are these organizations being accessed from different URLs or the same URL?

If different URL, then you can use different instances, see Control Panel->Portal Instances.

Please explain what you are trying to achieve so I can help you.
Gary Jiang
July 8, 2011 10:58 AM
Answer

Gary Jiang

Recent Posts

Thanks for the reply.
They should be accessed from different URLs. But the URLs may have the same root, such as www.organ-1.basename.com vs. www.organ-2.basename.com, or www.basename.com/organ-1 vs. www.basename.com/organ-2.

I'm not sure how instance works. Will instances consume a lot of additional resources? and if I deploy a portlet, will that be available to all the instances, or I have to deploy the portlet for each of the instances?