Gregory Amerson
SDK folder question
July 7, 2010 7:50 AM
Answer

Gregory Amerson

LIFERAY STAFF

Recent Posts

Péter Füzi:

An XP user (me) reports about his problem.
I'm stopped at Liferay Plug-ins SDK Setup / step 5. What particular IDE-SDK folder or file should be browsed in this field? I'm over the installation with success. Unfortunately I'm a newbie in Eclipse technology. Most likely it concludes me as I cannot give the correct place of the IDE SDK installed.

May I appreciate your guidance?
Thank you: Péter

Hello Péter,

The Liferay Plug-ins SDK zip file that you download does not create a parent folder when you unzip it. So when you have the liferay-plugins-sdk-6.0.2.zip file, first create your own folder called "plugins-sdk" and then unzip the contents of that file into that directory. Under that directory you should have the entries like "plugins-sdk/clients", "plugins-sdk/ext", .... THen in step 5 click the Browse on the Add SDK dialog and select that "plugins-sdk" folder. That should get you going.
Péter Füzi
RE: SDK folder question
July 8, 2010 10:37 AM
Answer

Péter Füzi

Recent Posts

Hi Greg,

Thank you. I review once again my installation session, and merge your answer in the scene. With your help it must work. As soon as I achive progress, I give a feedback.

Kind regards: Péter
Péter Füzi
July 9, 2010 4:15 AM
Answer

Péter Füzi

Recent Posts

refer please the setup procedure in concern at
http://www.liferay.com/community/wiki/-/wiki/Main/Liferay%20IDE%20Getting%20Started%20Tutorial#section-Liferay+IDE+Getting+Started+Tutorial-LiferayPlugInsSDKSetup

Well, Greg
I'm over the review with the findings below.

1. Liferay IDE plugins can be found within my Eclipse Galileo v3.5.2 installation. There are two Liferay folders under C:\Program Files\eclipse\plugins one for portlet.core, one for portlet.ui.
2. Eclipse is aware of the IDE installation: the Help About window reveals presence of Liferay plugin.