toggle
Preetha Pais
Portal development
April 4, 2013 1:02 AM
Answer

Preetha Pais

Recent Posts

Hi everybody,

I am new to liferay and I am doing a project using Liferay Portal 6.1 and Eclipse juno IDE.I have used DB2 as the databse.I have created a simple registration portlet which includes a registration form to enter the details of the new user.I want to save these user details into the database but when I try to save the details into database it saves null values .I have attached the files in the portlet and the error details in the console.

So kindly help me to solve this problem.

Thank you,
Preetha
Attachments: code.docx (240.4k)
Apoorva Prakash
RE: Portal development
April 4, 2013 2:50 AM
Answer

Apoorva Prakash

Recent Posts

Preetha Pais:
Hi everybody,

I am new to liferay and I am doing a project using Liferay Portal 6.1 and Eclipse juno IDE.I have used DB2 as the databse.I have created a simple registration portlet which includes a registration form to enter the details of the new user.I want to save these user details into the database but when I try to save the details into database it saves null values .I have attached the files in the portlet and the error details in the console.

So kindly help me to solve this problem.

Thank you,
Preetha

Hello Preetha,

You are supposed to use service builder for database connectivity. This is not correct way to achieve Liferay Database connectivity.

See this link to understand the concept of service builder.

HTH.

Thanks and Regards,
Apoorva Prakash
Apoorva Prakash
April 9, 2013 8:01 AM
Answer

Apoorva Prakash

Recent Posts

Preetha Pais:
Hello sir,
Thank u for the reply. I created a new greeting portlet and also created service.xml file in the docroot/WEB-INF folder. When i build that service it gives error. i have a doubt that whether i have to create a database before creating service.xml.