Fórum

Liferay w/Alfresco repository

dustin lastName, modificado 11 Anos atrás.

Liferay w/Alfresco repository

New Member Postagens: 2 Data de Entrada: 20/06/12 Postagens Recentes
I apologize for my naiveté but I'm relatively new to the java world and completely new to Liferay/Alfresco. From what I can tell, Liferay's data modeling is a little more simplistic than Alfresco as it's primary purpose is just to be a portal. However Alfresco's data modeling is more robust and will allows us to better model our domain. If we setup liferay to use alfresco as a repository/data store, do you get CRUD functionality in liferay for the types you define in alfresco, or do you still have to enter the information in alfresco?

What I'm trying to do is model different types for a site, news articles, videos (and associated metadata), image galleries etc. These would all have similar but slightly differing metadata but obviously have similar fields like author, title, view count etc. I saw you can do some basic modeling by creating custom structures, but it seems relatively limiting to the types of things you can do and relationships you can model compared to Alfresco. But the UI of Liferay is so much nicer and I'd prefer not to have our clients have to know anything about Alfresco.

tl;dr – What is the best way to provide CRUD for custom data models (custom types) in Alfresco through Liferay's UI so that our administrators don't have to know anything about Alfresco.

No real version requirements, but currently am working on HEAD of Liferay svn (so 6.2.x?) & alfresco 4.0.x
thumbnail
Alexander Chow, modificado 11 Anos atrás.

RE: Liferay w/Alfresco repository

Liferay Master Postagens: 518 Data de Entrada: 20/07/05 Postagens Recentes
Hi Dustin,

Welcome to Java and Liferay. emoticon