Threads [ Previous | Next ]
Jean-Pierre Doggett
Liferay Developer / Partner wanted for social business startup
February 15, 2012 3:09 AM
Answer

Jean-Pierre Doggett

Recent Posts

Hi,

My name is JP, I'm 35, British and I'm working on a social business startup which I'm applying to take to Y Combinator 2012. My background is in business, not coding, so I have been muddling along with the technological stuff by myself so far. I have chosen Liferay as a key element of my startup idea and am managing to work things out but it's taking me longer than I want so I have decided to look for a technology expert partner to help me on that front so I can concentrate on the business side.

Before you read on, here's the catch: I'm 100% self-funded (at the moment) and don't have enough cash to pay someone a proper salary. Therefore, the deal would involve equity in an, as yet, non-existent company. If you haven't clicked "back" already, here's what I'm looking for:

- An expert in Liferay who is familiar with all aspects of portal configuration and has experience developing custom portlets.
- Ideally, someone with broader Java programming experience and a solid background in Computer Science or Information Management.
- Familiarity with other social platforms like Jive would be a bonus.
- Preferably a fellow Brit (although I ought to declare at this stage that I'm half-French!), mostly so that we would be able to meet up without too much difficulty and have similar working times but partly because we're going to need to understand each other and get along so cultural affinity is relevant if not decisive. If you're not British but are interested, I would still like to hear from you.
- Someone who is going to be able to survive without getting paid much for between 6 and 12 months and, if necessary, travel to meet potential business partners / investors etc., especially if the Y Combinator application is successful.