Bharanitharan R
Creating New Portal Instance
February 14, 2012 5:04 AM
Answer

Bharanitharan R

Recent Posts

Hi,
I am new to Liferay.
Right now we are having a Portal (lets take 'liferay1.com') which is running in Liferay 6.0.

The requirment is i have to create one more Portal which should be a replica of 'liferay1.com' , lets have it as 'liferay2.com'
So i explored and found about creating multiple portal instance in Liferay.
According to that i went to 'liferay1.com' > control panel> Portal Instance > Add.
and i gave new Web ID, virtual Host and mail details.
But when click 'Save' i am getting 'Please provide a valid Web ID' msg.
I tried with many Web ID's but i change.
Whats happaning? need some help!

Some details:
The main portal 'liferay1.com' is using 'liferay.com' as web id.

In portal-ext.properties we have
company.default.web.id=liferay.com

[If any other better way to achive the replica of existing Portal as new instance.
Please guide me.]

thanks in advance
Bharani R
Olaf Kock
RE: Creating New Portal Instance
February 14, 2012 10:15 AM
Answer

Olaf Kock

LIFERAY STAFF

Recent Posts

An instance does only share the installed plugins and the code with all other instances, nothing else: No content, no users, nothing.

Just creating such an instance should work - you just need a unique virtual host name. For the original instance you can leave localhost - all virtual hosts not matching an instance's virtual host name will refer back to the original instance.

Also, this will create an instance - you'll need to duplicate the content (as you state that it should be a replica) yourself, e.g. through backup/restore of your content, staging etc.
Bharanitharan R
February 14, 2012 11:37 PM
Answer

Bharanitharan R

Recent Posts

Hi Olaf Kock,

Very happy to see your replay. Thank you.
I tried with new virtoal host only but . my bad nothing works.

One set of data i used:
Web Id : newportal.com
Virtual Host : www.newportal.com
mail domain : newportal.com